Sign In

Skip Navigation LinksOneFPA > Professional Development > Certified Financial Planner Learning Model | FPA

​​​​FPA's knowledge and learning experiences are designed to meet the needs of all career stages within the financial planning profession. As you grow in experience and expertise you need knowledge, talents, skills and strengths to gain success. 

Our mission is to achieve the Five Big Es for FP​​A attendees at all conferences and events:

  1. Education 
  2. Experience 
  3. Excitement 
  4. Excellence 
  5. Execution 

To help you identify the best learning opportunity for you, we have created the FPA Lifelong Learning Competency Model. The model serves as a resource to help you identify the intended scope and learning level of a particular education program. Each program will be flagged with the Level of Complexity and Competency that the session most closely aligns to from an educational perspective.

The Model

Level of Complexity

  1. Overview
  2. Intermediate
  3. Advanced 


  1. Global
  2. New to the Profession
  3. Client Relationships 
  4. Practice Management
       - Growth
       - Management
       - Transition

Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards, Inc. Topic List (when applicable)

  1. General Principles of Financial Planning 
  2. Insurance Planning & Risk Management 
  3. Investment Planning 
  4. Income Tax Planning 
  5. Retirement Planning 
  6. Estate Planning 
  7. Interpersonal Communication 

Sample Model Application​​

Date/Time: Sunday, September 9 (8:30-9:45 a.m. EDT)
Title: Setting Up Your Practice: What, Why, When and How?
Level of Complexity: Overview
FPA Competency: Practice Management
Speakers: Bonnie A. Hughes, CFP®, Ben Jennings, CPA/PFS, CFP®, CLU and Michael J. Zmistowski, RFC